Citadel Team allows you to activate end-to-end encryption in a specific room
, to ensure that only you and your interlocutors are able to decrypt the messages and files exchanged.
This involves the creation of encryption keys specific to each of your devices
Without access to these keys, it will be impossible for you to decrypt messages.
Each time you log out, the secret elements (including the encryption keys) are erased (a pop-up warns the user).
Thus, a user who is only logged on 1 device and who performs a logout loses all his encryption keys.
To avoid this:
- Log in on another terminal and synchronize your encryption keys.
- Manually export your keys (in user settings > Security > Export keys), to be re-imported at the next login.